Hopper Games – Drawing with my friend from Indonesia

Hi there, a lil about me, I am Vari from Indonesia, a Chinese girl born in Jakarta on 1985, I’ve started drawing since primary school and keep on drawing up till now. I draw on daily basis since I work as a drawing instructor on an after-school program for 2 – 12 years old kids. I can say that most of my drawings are categorized as cartoon and you will find out that it is quite cheerful.

Hello! I’m François. I’m from Paris in France. I was born there in 1974. My drawing experience started as a kid, but my school teachers told me I was not a drawer. I believed them and I stopped… Six month ago, I’ve understood my teachers were wrong, so I started to draw again. I like art and philosophy, they inspire me for drawing. I have imagination and I like to play with it.

We are trying to do a blog about experiments on our drawing. Each of us will draw something on a blank white paper and the person on the other side of the world will continue the drawing and put some color on it. We guess we put our taste, our mood as well into the drawing, we are free to change the drawing or copy it and add something. This is like doing chemical experiments… What will be the result of the mix of style and moods??

Here is how the first try took place:

To find a subject about drawing, I have chosen a book with paintings of Edward Hopper. He was an american painter from the 20′s century. He lived in Paris, then in America and I love the melancoly of his paintings. The one I choosed is called “Room in New York” it has been painted in 1932. The couple on that painting lives together but they don’t care about each other… and are bored.

image005-3
A room in New York – Edward Hopper

I also wanted to add some surrealist things in that drawing so it is not just a simple copy. I changed the head of the man into a tiger’s head and the woman’s head into a bird’s head… The man is reading a newspapper, he is a bit “macho” like a tiger and the girl is playing piano, artistic like a bird. Here is what I have drawn:

François' drawing
François’ drawing

I was using a simple black pen and I did it in one try on a A4 paper.

Actually, this experiment is Francois’ idea, I was not too excited about it until I start redrawing the picture he sent to me.
He didn’t tell me anything about the drawing, I didn’t even know that there is Edward Hopper’s drawing, so I just redraw it with my style. The result is quite different and we have a new story to tell from the drawing.
For me, Francois’ drawing looks quite serious, he has some thoughts about what he draw, not merely a spontaneous drawing. I was curious about his perception on his own drawing, but he didn’t want to tell me about it, he said he want me to be free in expressing any of my idea,
so after couples of days I decided to do it,.. At night, after work, I was so tired but am trying to grab a marker and redraw his drawing, I tried so many times (more than 10 papers) to get what I want. After I feel satisfied, I redraw it on 2 pieces of paper (A4, landscape),

Vari's drawing
Vari’s drawing

I am very happy about the drawing and enjoyed the process very much, I forget everything, I don’t remember that I am tired, I feel relax and smiled a lot, then I share it to Francois and it doubled the excitement! 😀

I was looking forward to see Vari’s drawing. I was so curious about it. When I’ve seen it, that was amazing! The result is so great! We still can see Hopper’s set with a husband reading a newspaper and his wife playing the piano, but there is no more melancholy! Now this is a really happy room!
The bird is playing the piano while the tiger is reading a story to his spouse. She is playing for him. They are happy. There are three wonderful details:the painting of them on the wall, the flowers in the middle and the eye of the bird that is looking at him subtitly.
I love the mutations of those drawings, how the situation has changed. This is not only drawing.

I am looking forward for another experiment…
I draw something for Christmas and asked Francois to continue the drawing, I guess we will put it here as well, for our second posts 😀

 

Here is the original blog’s page: Drawing on both sides of earth.

3 réflexions sur “Hopper Games – Drawing with my friend from Indonesia

  1. What a joy!
    Such excellent ideas and execution! truly inspirational!
    Reminds me of the Earth-sandwich project (http://www.zefrank.com/sandwich/ )

    Well done!

    On the execution side: you are both awesome!
    I love the simplicity of Francois, the postures of both animals and the small wing
    Vari – I love the colorbook feeling! the small circles on the flowers that make the line width of the rest of the drawing stand out, and how it relates to the doorknob.

    I am missing hopper redoing your version to complete the loop, but you can’t have everything, I guess (where would you put it ?? 🙂

Laisser un commentaire

